Our beautiful new showroom at Cotes Mill
15th November 2012
We finally have a showroom that is the perfect setting for our kitchens and flooring. In 1086 the Doomsday book listed an established Saxon Mill on this site. Nobody really knows when that first Mill was built, but it was certainly 1000 to 1200 years ago. If you’re reading in the US, that is not a typo.
Large parts of the existing Mill and the bridge over the river Soar are Medieval, with many early Victorian additions, including the top floor. The Mill stands in 12 acres of formal gardens, mill ponds and pasture land and includes a 200m stretch of the river Soar complete with a 3/4 of an acre island called Devil’s Island.
The Mill is so rich in history that we uncover more stories daily; most notably a civil war battle with canons and 12,000 Cavaliers, visits by at least two Monarchs and the gruesome death of an Ancestor of Spike Milligan who was mutilated by one of the huge water-wheels which ensnared him for 50 to 60 revolutions.
Cotes Mill was most recently used as a pub and restaurant, but has remained vacant for the last 4 years. We have been trying to buy it for 2 years and finally managed it last week. Work has already started and we plan to open, at least the kitchen and flooring showroom in January and the entire building will be open to the public by May with a cafe and walks around the grounds.
As well as our kitchens and flooring we will also have everything from Architectural Antiques to cutting edge interior products. We hope to fill every nook and cranny of this amazing building with beautifully dressed room sets that will open up, for the first time, the most fascinating parts of the Mill.